Skip to main content
  • The Congress of Neurological Surgeons Announces Neurosurgery Publications 2023 Paper of the Year Winners

    • Aug 16, 2023

    The Congress of Neurological Surgeons Announces Neurosurgery Publications 2023 Paper of the Year Winners

    Schaumburg, Ill. # #, 2023—The Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) proudly announces the winners of the seventh annual Paper of the Year awards, honoring the most-impactful papers published in Neurosurgery from June 2022 to May 2023. 

    The Paper of the Year awards highlight the collaboration between the CNS and Neurosurgery by calling special attention to papers that challenged dogma, created a paradigm shift, and/or encouraged surgeons to rethink approaches to patient care, big data, and trial results.

    The Top Paper of the Year was awarded to “A Protocol for Reducing Intensive Care Utilization After Craniotomy: A 3-Year Assessment” by Gabriela D. Ruiz Colón, Rika Ohkuma, Arjun V. Pendharkar, Boris D. Heifets, Gordon Li, Amy Lu, Melanie Hayden Gephart, and John K. Ratliff.

    “So many wonderful submissions are received by the journal each year and not all can be accepted and published. Our editorial board helps to select those articles with meaningful impact on clinical care and neurosurgical science. From this select group, the annual award papers are a special group, and we are so pleased to promote their work in this additional way,” said Dr. Douglas Kondziolka, Editor-in-Chief of Neurosurgery Publications.

    Paper of the Year Section Level recipients are:

    • Paper of the Year: Cerebrovascular “Multinational Genome-Wide Association Study and Functional Genomics Analysis Implicates Decreased SIRT3 Expression Underlying Intracranial Aneurysm Risk” by Andrew T. Hale, Jing He, and Jesse Jones.
    • Paper of the Year: Neurotrauma and Critical Care “Time to Follow Commands in Severe Traumatic Brain Injury Survivors With Favorable Recovery at 2 Years” by Hansen Deng, Enyinna L. Nwachuku, Tiffany E. Wilkins, John K. Yue, Anita Fetzick, Yue-Fang Chang, Sue R. Beers, David O. Okonkwo, and Ava M. Puccio.
    • Paper of the Year: Pain “High-Resolution Spinal Motor Mapping Using Thoracic Spinal Cord Stimulation in Patients With Chronic Pain” by Ilknur Telkes, Amir Hadanny, Marisa DiMarzio, Girish Chitnis, Steven Paniccioli, Katherine O'Connor, Rachael Grey, Kevin McCarthy, Olga Khazen, Bryan McLaughlin, and Julie G. Pilitsis.
    • Paper of the Year: Pediatrics “Multidimensional Outcomes of Selective Dorsal Rhizotomy for Children With Spastic Cerebral Palsy: Single-Level Laminectomy vs Multiple-Level Laminotomy Techniques” by Zhexi He, Sui To Wong, Hing Yuen Law, Lai Mio Miko Lao, Kwai Fong Helen Chan, Nar Chi Nerita Chan, and Kwong Yui Yam.
    • Paper of the Year: Peripheral Nerve “Evaluation of Selective Tibial Neurotomy for the Spastic Foot Treatment Using a Personal Goal-Centered Approach: A 1-Year Cohort Study” by Corentin Dauleac, Jacques Luaute, Gilles Rode, Afif Afif, Marc Sindou, and Patrick Mertens.
    • Paper of the Year: Socioeconomics, Health Policy, and Law “Neurosurgical Utilization, Charges, and Reimbursement After the Affordable Care Act: Trends From 2011 to 2019” by Andrew M. Hersh, Tara Dedrickson, Jung Ho Gong, Adrian E. Jimenez, Joshua Materi, Anand Veeravagu, John K. Ratliff, and Tej D. Azad.
    • Paper of the Year: Spine “Acute Implantation of a Bioresorbable Polymer Scaffold in Patients With Complete Thoracic Spinal Cord Injury: 24-Month Follow-up From the INSPIRE Study” by Kee D. Kim, K. Stuart Lee, Domagoj Coric, James S. Harrop, Nicholas Theodore, and Richard M. Toselli.
    • Paper of the Year: Stereotactic and Functional “Piriform Cortex Ablation Volume Is Associated With Seizure Outcome in Mesial Temporal Lobe Epilepsy” by Brian Y.  Hwang, David Mampre, Yohannes K. Tsehay, Serban Negoita, Min Jae Kim, Christopher Coogan, Alexander Eremiev, Adhith Palla, Carly Weber-Levine, Joon Y. Kang, and William S. Anderson.
    • Paper of the Year: Tumor “Duration of Prophylactic Levetiracetam After Surgery for Brain Tumor: A Prospective Randomized Trial” by Maryam Rahman, Stephan Eisenschenk, Kaitlyn Melnick, Yu Wang, Shelley Heaton, Ashley Ghiaseddin, Marcia Hodik, Nina McGrew, Jessica Smith, Greg Murad, Steven Roper, and Jean Cibula.
    • Paper of the Year: Global Neurosurgery “Loss to Follow-up and Unplanned Readmission After Emergent Surgery for Acute Subdural Hematoma” by Bradley S. Guidry, Alan R. Tang, Harrison Thomas, Rut Thakkar, Anthony Sermarini, Robert J. Dambrino IV, Aaron Yengo-Kahn, Lola B. Chambless, Peter Morone, and Silky Chotai.

    The CNS congratulates all Paper of the Year winners.


    About Neurosurgery Publications
    Neurosurgery is the official publication of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons. Neurosurgery provides multimedia, prompt publication of scientific articles on clinical or experimental surgery topics important for the brain, spine, and peripheral nerves, reviews, and other information of interest to readers across the world. Clinical Neurosurgery, published annually as a supplement to Neurosurgery, is the official register of the CNS Annual Meeting. Operative Neurosurgery is focused on the technical aspects of the discipline featuring operative procedures, anatomy, instrumentation, devices, and technology. Operative Neurosurgery is the practical resource for cutting-edge material that connects the surgeon directly to the operating room. Neurosurgery Practice publishes scientific articles, both clinical and experimental, from across the neurosurgical subspecialties including but not limited to vascular, spine, and tumor. Neurosurgery Practice features clinical research, reviews, case instructions, and other information of interest to neurosurgeons.  Neurosurgery Practice is an online-only, fully Open Access publication with content publishing under either the Creative Commons Attribution CC-BY-NC-ND or CC-BY license.

    About the Congress of Neurological Surgeons
    The Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) is the global leader in neurosurgical education, serving to promote health by advancing neurosurgery through innovation and excellence in education. The CNS provides leadership in neurosurgery by inspiring and facilitating scientific discovery and its translation into clinical practice. For more information, visit


We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site. Privacy Policy