Skip to main content
  • The Congress of Neurological Surgeons Announces NEUROSURGERY Publications 2022 Paper of the Year Winners

    • Aug 09, 2022

    Schaumburg, Ill. August 9, 2022—The Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) proudly announces the winners of the sixth annual Paper of the Year awards, honoring the most-impactful papers published in Neurosurgery from June 2021 to May 2022. 

    The Paper of the Year awards highlight the collaboration between the CNS and Neurosurgery by calling special attention to papers that challenged dogma, created a paradigm shift, and/or encouraged surgeons to rethink approaches to patient care, big data, and trial results.

    The Top Paper of the Year was awarded to “Postoperative Oral Antibiotics and Sinonasal Outcomes Following Endoscopic Transsphenoidal Surgery for Pituitary Tumors Study: A Multicenter, Prospective, Randomized, Double-Blinded, Placebo-Controlled Study” by Andrew S. Little, Varun R. Kshettry, Marc R. Rosen, Ryan M. Rehl, Timothy W. Haegen, Mindy R. Rabinowitz, Gurston G. Nyquist, Pablo F. Recinos, Raj Sindwani, Troy D. Woodard, Christopher J. Farrell, Griffin D. Santarelli, John Milligan, and James J. Evans.

    “We understand our authors have choices; therefore, we very much appreciate that they entrust us with their high-quality manuscripts,” said Dr. Nelson M. Oyesiku, Editor-in-Chief of NEUROSURGERY Publications. 

    “Promotion of an author’s work in NEUROSURGERY Publications remains an important element of the entire work beyond publication of the article. These awards help to do that for our authors, ” said Dr. Douglas Kondziolka, Editor-in-Chief Elect of NEUROSURGERY Publications.

    Paper of the Year Section Level recipients are:

    • Paper of the Year: Cerebrovascular “Natural History of Spinal Cord Cavernous Malformations: A Multicenter Cohort Study” by Jian Ren, Nan Jiang, Lisong Bian, Adam A. Dmytriw, Gao Zeng, Chuan He, Liyong Sun, Xiaoyu Li, Yongjie Ma, Jiaxing Yu, Guilin Li, Ming Ye, Peng Hu, Jingwei Li, Fan Yang, Qianwen Li, Feng Ling, Hongqi Zhang, and Tao Hong.
    • Paper of the Year: Neurotrauma and Critical Care “The Impact of Age and Severity on Dementia After Traumatic Brain Injury: A Comparison Study” by Brittany M. Stopa, Zabreen Tahir, Elisabetta Mezzalira, Alessandro Boaro, Ayaz Khawaja, Rachel Grashow, Ross D. Zafonte, Timothy R. Smith, William B. Gormley, and Saef Izzy.
    • Paper of the Year: Pain “Reducing Superfluous Opioid Prescribing Practices After Brain Surgery: It Is Time to Talk About Drugs” by Karam Asmaro, Hassan A. Fadel, Sameah A. Haider, Jacob Pawloski, Edvin Telemi, Tarek R. Mansour, Ankush Chandra, Michael Bazydlo, Adam M. Robin, Ian Y. Lee, Ellen L. Air, Jack P. Rock, Steven N. Kalkanis, and Jason M. Schwalb.
    • Paper of the Year: Pediatrics “Real-World Preliminary Experience With Responsive Neurostimulation in Pediatric Epilepsy: A Multicenter Retrospective Observational Study” by Yasunori Nagahama, Thomas M. Zervos, Kristina K. Murata, Lynette Holman, Torin Karsonovich, Jonathon J. Parker, Jia-Shu Chen, H. Westley Phillips, Marytery Fajardo, Hiroki Nariai, Shaun A. Hussain, Brenda E. Porter, Gerald A. Grant, John Ragheb, Shelly Wang, Brent R. O'Neill, Allyson L. Alexander, Robert J. Bollo, and Aria Fallah.
    • Paper of the Year: Peripheral Nerve “Morbidity and Function Loss After Resection of Malignant Peripheral Nerve Sheath Tumors” by Enrico Martin, Courtney Pendleton, Cornelis Verhoef, Robert J. Spinner, J. Henk Coert, and the MONACO collaborators.
    • Paper of the Year: Socioeconomics, Health Policy, and Law “The Legal and Socioeconomic Considerations in Spine Telemedicine” by Roberto J. Perez-Roman, Delano R. Trenchfield, Nayda I. Perez-Roman, and Michael Y. Wang.
    • Paper of the Year: Spine “Are Guidelines Important? Results of a Prospective Quality Improvement Lumbar Fusion Project” by James Harrop, Alexandra Emes, Ameet Chitale, Chengyuan Wu, Fadi Al Saiegh, Geoffrey Stricsek, Glenn A. Gonzalez, Jack Jallo, Josh Heller, Kevin Hines, Lucas Philipp, Sara Thalheimer, Srinivas K. Prasad, Thiago S. Montenegro, Umma Fatema, and Ashwini Sharan.
    • Paper of the Year: Stereotactic and Functional “Long-Term Results of Deep Brain Stimulation for Treatment-Resistant Depression: Outcome Analysis and Correlation With Lead Position and Electrical Parameters” by Juan Ángel Aibar-Durán, Rodrigo Rodríguez Rodríguez, Francisco Javier de Diego Adeliño, María J. Portella, María Jesús Álvarez-Holzapfel, Ana Martín Blanco, Dolors Puigdemont Campos, and Joan Molet Teixidó.
    • Paper of the Year: Tumor “Machine Learning-Based Prediction of Early Recurrence in Glioblastoma Patients: A Glance Towards Precision Medicine” by Giuseppe Maria Della Pepa, Valerio Maria Caccavella, Grazia Menna, Tamara Ius, Anna Maria Auricchio, Giovanni Sabatino, Giuseppe La Rocca, Silvia Chiesa, Simona Gaudino, Enrico Marchese, and Alessandro Olivi.

    The CNS congratulates all Paper of the Year winners.


    About NEUROSURGERY Publications
    Neurosurgery, the official publication of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, provides a medium for the prompt publication of scientific articles dealing with clinical or experimental neurosurgery, reviews, and other information of interest to neurosurgeons. Clinical Neurosurgery, published annually as a supplement to Neurosurgery, is the official register of the CNS Annual Meeting. Operative Neurosurgery is focused on the technical aspects of the discipline featuring operative procedures, anatomy, instrumentation, devices, and technology. Operative Neurosurgery is the practical resource for cutting-edge material that connects the surgeon directly to the operating room. Neurosurgery Open is an online-only, fully Open Access publication with all content publishing under the Creative Commons Attribution CC-BY-NC-ND, unless an alternative is required by a funding body. Content published in Neurosurgery Open publishes on a rolling basis with issues closed quarterly. Neurosurgery Open provides an outlet for the publication of scientific papers dealing with clinical neurosurgery and experimental neurosurgery, such as case series, clinical studies and other information of interest to neurosurgeons.

    About the Congress of Neurological Surgeons
    The Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) is the global leader in neurosurgical education, serving to promote health by advancing neurosurgery through innovation and excellence in education. The CNS provides leadership in neurosurgery by inspiring and facilitating scientific discovery and its translation into clinical practice. The CNS maintains the vitality of the profession through volunteer efforts of its members and the development of leadership in service to the public, to colleagues in other disciplines, and to neurosurgeons throughout the world in all stages of their professional lives. For more information, visit

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site. Privacy Policy