Paper of the Year Awards

The CNS and NEUROSURGERY® Publications are honored to offer congratulations to the following full list of Paper of the Year awardees:

Top Paper of the Year

PUFS Trial: Long-term Clinical and Angiographic Outcomes Following PED Treatment of Complex ICA Aneurysms: Five-year Results of the Pipeline for Uncoilable or Failed Aneuryms (PUFS) Trial

Authors: Tibor Becske, MD; Waleed Brinjikji, MD; Matthew B. Potts, MD; David F. Kallmes, MD; Maksim Shapiro, MD; Christopher J. Moran, MD; Elad I. Levy, MD; Cameron G. McDougall, MD; István Szikora, MD PhD; Giuseppe Lanzino, MD; Henry H. Woo, MD; Demetrius K. Lopes, MD; Adnan H. Siddiqui, MD PhD; Felipe C. Albuquerque, MD; David J. Fiorella, MD PhD; Isil Saatci, MD; Saruhan H. Cekirge, MD; Aaron L. Berez, MD; Daniel J. Cher, MD; Zsolt Berentei, MD; Miklós Marosfői, MD; Peter K. Nelson, MD


Top Paper of the Year: Runner Up

Outcomes of Operative and Nonoperative Treatment for Adult Spinal Deformity: A Prospective, Multicenter Propensity-matched Cohort Assessment with Minimum 2-year Follow-up

Authors: International Spine Study Group


Paper of the Year: Section Level



Cerebral Revascularization for Aneurysms in the Flow Diverter Era

Authors: David C. Straus, MD; Harley Brito da Silva, MD; Lynn McGrath, MD; Michael R. Levitt, MD; Louis J. Kim, MD; Basavaraj V. Ghodke, MD; Jason K. Barber, MS; Laligam N. Sekhar, MD


Neurotrauma & Critical Care

Association of Severe TBI Patients’ Outcomes with Duration of Cerebrovascular Autoregulation Impairment Events

Authors: Aidanas Preiksaitis, MD; Solventa Krakauskaite, MSc; Vytautas Petkus, DSc; Saulius Rocka, MD, PhD; Romanas Chomskis, MSc, FH; Teodoro Forcht Dagi, MD, MPH; Arminas Ragauskas, DSc, FBC



Comparison of 10 kHz High Frequency and Traditional Low Frequency Spinal Cord Stimulation for the Treatment of Chronic Back and Leg Pain: 24-month Results From a Multicenter Randomized Controlled Pivotal Trial

Authors: Leonardo Kapural, MD, PhD; Cong Yu, MD; Matthew W. Doust, MD; Bradford E. Gliner, MS; Ricardo Vallejo, MD, PhD; B. Todd Sitzman, MD, MPH; Kasra Amirdelfan, MD; Donna M. Morgan, MD; Thomas L. Yearwood, MD, PhD; Richard Bundschu, MD; Thomas Yang, MD; Ramsin Benyamin, MD; Abram H. Burgher, MD



Lumbar Cerebrospinal Fluid Biomarkers of Post-Hemorrhagic Hydrocephalus of Prematurity: Amyloid Precursor Protein, Soluble APPα, and L1 Cell Adhesion Molecule

Authors: Diego M. Morales, MS; Shawgi A. Silver, BA; Clinton D. Morgan, MD; Deanna Mercer, BA; Terri E. Inder, MD, MB; David M. Holtzman, MD; Michael J. Wallendorf, PhD; Rakesh Rao, MD; James P. McAllister, PhD; David D. Limbrick, Jr, MD, PhD


Spine & Peripheral Nerve

Lumbar Spinal Stenosis Associated with Degenerative Lumbar Spondylolisthesis: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Secondary Fusion Rates Following Open Versus Minimally Invasive Decompression

Authors: Karsten Schöller, MD; Marjan Alimi, MD; Guang-Ting Cong, BS; Paul Christos, Dr,PHMS; Roger Härtl, MD


Socioeconomics, Health Policy, and Law

ORACLE Stroke Study: Opinion Regarding Acceptable Outcome Following Decompressive Hemicraniectomy for Ischaemic Stroke

Authors: Stephen Honeybul, FRACS; Kwok M. Ho, PhD; David W. Blacker, FRACP


Stereotactic and Functional

Improved Function Following Deep Brain Stimulation for Chronic Severe Traumatic Brain Injury

Authors: Ali R. Rezai, MD; Per B. Sederberg, PhD; Jennifer Bogner, PhD; Dylan M. Nielson, PhD; Jun Zhang, PhD; W. Jerry Mysiw, MD; Michael V. Knopp, MD, PhD; John D. Corrigan, PhD



The Pluripotent Stem Cell Marker Alkaline Phosphatase is Highly Expressed in Refractory Glioblastoma With DNA Hypomethylation

Authors: Yasuo Iwadate, MD; Akiko Suganami, PhD; Yutaka Tamura, PhD; Tomoo Matsutani, MD; Seiichiro Hirono, MD; Natsuki Shinozaki, MD; Takaki Hiwasa, PhD; Masaki Takiguchi, PhD; Naokatsu Saeki, MD

Innovator of the Year Award

The three finalists for the 2017 Innovator of the Year have been selected and will be presenting their innovations on Monday afternoon from 2:00 – 2:30 pm in the CNS Xperience Lounge, powered by Surgical Theater.  Don’t miss these presentations, and then you will have the opportunity to vote for the winner!  The winner will be announced on Wednesday morning during the General Scientific Session.